# APPROVED February 20, 2015

University Senate Minutes of the Senate October 31, 2014

**Members Present:** Alinaa Alsaud, Lisa Burkhart, Tim Classen, Leanne Cribbs, David Embrick, Michael Fasullo, Alanah Fitch, Lucas Fleisher, Lisa Gillespie, Adam Hepp, Tyler Hough, Pamela Johnson, Thomas Kelly, Vicki Keough, Terri Kilbane, Joyce Knight, Timothy Lacy, Ronald Martin, Niamh McGuigan, Kenechukwu Mmeje, Christopher Peterson, Noah Sobe, Dian Squire, Anne Sutter, Maria Udo, Bastiaan Vanacker, David Yellen

### I. Welcome and Announcements

The chair declared a quorum and welcomed the Senators and guests. He reminded Senators of the upcoming Senate outreach events at HSC and WTC.

### II. Adoption of Sept 19, 2014 minutes

R. Martin moved that senate approve the minutes as amended. T. Kilbane seconded the motion. The question was called and the motion carried unanimously.

### III. Follow up reports on previous senate resolutions

T. Kelly updated the senate on the search for a Chief Diversity Officer. He stated that interviews have been completed and an offer should be made next week.

Anita Lumpkin, director of Student Veteran's Office gave a brief report on the office's services and future programming.

The Chair discussed procedures that have been put in place to increase the accessibility of course syllabi for students, with all schools have developed plans for this. The chair noted that he was requesting that SGLC follow up and monitor this, and to alert the Senate if this continues to be a concern of students.

### IV. Nominations for Open Positions on Graduate Studies Coordinating Board (GSCB)

The chair noted that the provost had requested that the Senate begin playing a role in selecting members for open positions on the university's curriculum committees (GSCB and the Board of Undergraduate Studies) by forwarding two nominees for each open position. Given the need to fill three open faculty positions on the GSCB (for LSC, WTC and HSC campus representation), the chair tasked the Faculty Affairs and Staff Affairs committee with soliciting and forwarding nominations for the Senate to consider. T. Lacy, as the chair of the Faculty Affairs and Staff Affairs Committee, presented 4 nominees from WTC, 2 nominees from LSC, and 2 nominees from HSC. N. Sobe proposed that the Senate endorse the two candidates recommended for the LSC position (Pamela Caughie and Gunes Tezcur) as well as the two candidates recommended for the HSC position (Kenneth Byron and Kimberly Foreman) and that the Senate vote by ballot on the four candidates proposed for the WTC opening. The motion was seconded by A.Fitch and

# APPROVED February 20, 2015

passed unanimously. The Senate then voted by secret ballot and at the end of the meeting it was announced that the Senate had selected Karen Shaw and Florence Chee to recommend for the WTC opening.

## V. By-Laws Revisions and Adoption

T. Kelly moved that we formally adopt the revised bylaws as presented at the previous Senate meeting. T. Kilbane seconded. Discussion ensued. N.Sobe proposed an amendment that would add an Article II C that would read "The SENATE is the successor to the University Coordinating Council. The SENATE will appoint an extraordinary subcommittee comprised of its faculty and administration representatives to replace and perform the functions of the former Faculty Affairs University Policy Committee." T. Hough seconded. The question was called and the motion to amend passed by vote of 14 in favor, 4 opposed, 8 abstentions.

T. Lacy, chair of the Faculty Affairs and Staff Affairs Committee, presented a proposal from that committee for restructuring the system of apportioning representation among different staff divisions. Rather than a strict campus-based system they proposed a system of representation that would proceed by division affiliation with the exception of HSC. A. Sutter then presented a series of amendments that would create a system whereby the five staff positions on the Senate would move to the following: a. Health Sciences Campus, b. Administrative Services, c. Advancement, d. Academic/Student Services, and e. Financial Services or Campus Planning and Campus Management,. To effect this change she proposed a motion to amend Section III.B.2 to read:

Staff: 5 (Full-time)

- a. Health Sciences Campus 1
- b. Administrative Services 1
- c. Advancement 1
- d. Academic/Student Services 1
- e. Financial Services or Capital Planning and Campus Management 1

At least one of these Senators must be from LSC, and at least one must be from WTC.

Sutter's motion included the provision to amend Section III.E.1 "Timing of Elections" to read:

In even-numbered years ... Staff will elect the following members from different divisions: 1 Administrative Services, 1 Advancement, 1 Health Sciences Campus, with the constraint that LSC and WTC must each be represented by at least one of the five staff senators.

In odd-numbered years ... Staff will elect the following members from different divisions: 1 Academic Affairs/Student Services, 1 Financial Services or Capital Planning and Campus Management, with the constraint that LSC and WTC must each be represented by at least one of the five staff senators.

# **APPROVED February 20, 2015**

Sutter's motion also included a provision to amend Section III.B.2. "General Nominating Procedures" to read:

d. In the event that the constraints for staff representation (see Section III.B.2) would not met by seating the candidates with the largest numbers of votes, the Bylaws and Elections Committee, in consultation with the staff Senators, will work to find the fairest possible solution that satisfies the constraints, and submit this solution to the SENATE Executive Committee for approval.

A. Fitch Seconded. After discussion the question was called and the amendment was approved by a vote of 19 in favor, 3 opposed, 3 abstentions.

T. Kilbane then proposed that the revised by-laws be approved as amended. T. Hough seconded. The motion passed by a vote of 24 in favor, 1 opposed and no abstentions.

### VI. Elections to fill standing committee leadership positions

The chair announced that the Senate still needed to fill a several leadership positions on university committees. By acclamation D. Embrick and A. Sutter were elected as co-Chairs of the Bylaws and Elections Committee. By acclamation Lucas Fleischer was elected as Chair of the Academic Affairs and Research Committee.

### V. Adjournment

The Chair noted that the next meeting will be held on December 4th on the 4th floor of the Information Commons, LSC. The meeting was adjourned at 4:43 pm

Respectfully Submitted Joyce D. Knight, Secretary, University Senate